IN IT TO WIN IT

So far, as we’ve been going through various in-class exercises and assignments, I’ve been having strong feelings of self-doubt: about my morning pages, visual self presentation and even my creative ability. In retrospect, I think this self-doubt stems from my deeper fear of failure.

In the text, Julia Cameron says these feelings of self-doubt are normal and we can deal with them by seeing them as symptoms of our creative recovery. I found this particularly reassuring and I’m going to make sure these feelings of self-doubt don’t turn into self-sabotage even if it means taking more risks and being open to failure.

Cameron also says “creativity flourishes when we have a sense of safety and self-acceptance. Your artist, like a small child, is happiest when feeling a sense of security.” This immediately reminded me of a few lines from Kanye West’s song, Power: “My childlike creativity, purity and honesty/ Is honestly being crowded by these grown thoughts/ Reality is catching up with me/ Taking my inner child, I’m fighting for custody.”

This path to creative recovery is a child custody battle I’m determined to win!

Leave a Reply

